Day 22: The Louvre

Today was free Louvre/Museum day.  We woke up a bit later than I wanted, but still made it there before 10.  However, the line was an hour and a half.  We had all day so I wasn’t worried, however I did have to go to the bathroom.  So I used the Euro that Tim gave me at work to go to their really cool bathroom while Ryan held our place in line.  The bathroom place was really cool and they even sold specially printed toilet paper.  I thought that would be a pretty funny gift for someone but Ryan did not.  I took a picture in the stall so you could see how beautifully decorated it was:

We kept waiting in line in the mall under the Louvre.  This was the first time we saw an Apple store and I was really surprised.  I figured I’d see one on the Champs Elysees but it was in the Louvre.  When we finally got in, we headed straight for the Mona Lisa.  I figured might as well see it first before even more people got in.  It is a ZOO trying to see that thing.  People talk about it being small but it was the size I’d expect.  However, it’s crazy protected.  They let all the other paintings hang out on the walls but this one is surrounded by security guards, cameras, railings, a wood shelf and glass.  I did not enjoy looking at it and wished that all the people would go away so I could enjoy it.  However, Ryan and I did have a fun time playing “Find Courtney in the picture.”

We continued along seeing a lot more awesome art.  It was rather hot in many of the rooms so I enjoyed the ones where it was cold, like the pyramid/Egyptian rooms.  I think I was most excited by Hammurabi’s Code.  It was really cool to look at.  I wish they had the English translation though, all they had was French.  It’s pretty amazing what those hieroglyphics say though.

We saw a ton more awesome things.  Ryan’s favorite was Ramses III and the tombs.  We were only able to grab one picture together and my eyes were closed, but it’s the only one we got!

After eating lunch at the Louvre and looking around for a few hours, we decided to head over to the French Open and check out what we could see. I mean Nadal and Federer were playing and we thought maybe we could at least get some stuff on the street like a tshirt or something.  But we couldn’t get in.  They had people selling tickets but I was too nervous they would be fake!  However, it was pretty cool just to hear all the people cheering and you could even hear them swing their rackets.  I mean I can probably say that will be the closest I ever am to a Nadal/Federer match in my life!

After that we headed home and took a nap.  We were going to go out but decided to stay in and save some money.  We want to go shopping tomorrow and maybe we’ll buy something!

This entry was posted in 16th Arrondissement, 1st Arrondissement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment